Advance your career with information technology knowledge and skills in the areas of computer systems administration and network technologies. Gains skills in high level IT support with our information technology systems administration course.

If you’re interested in networking, routing and switching principles, computer operating systems, computer hardware, database development, and virtualisation technologies then our information technology systems administration course is for you.

Training provided in this program also aids as preparation for IT vendor certifications including Cisco CCENT, Microsoft MCSA, VMware VCP-DCV and CompTIA Linux+.

National Code ICT50315
Study Areas System Administration
Study Level Diploma
Study Type Local
Study Mode

FT: 1 year
PT: flexible

Course Type Victorian TAFE Course
Campuses Box Hill Campus​​

Tuition Fee Type Estimated Annual Fee
Gov. Subsidised - Standard $7,134.00
Full Tuition Fee $11,919.00
Service Fees Estimated Annual Fees
Service & Amenities* $155.00
Core Skills Support** $75.00
Annual Material Fees $261.00
Retain Course Items*** No fee applies

* Does not apply to VETiS or Short course students.

** Does not apply to VETiS, International students, Short Courses, Graduate Degrees , or re-enrolling students who re-enrol in the same course.

***Retained Course Items are purchased by the student once prior to commencing. The course items bought by the student become the property of the student. Such items retain a generic application for other purposes outside the student's course of study (e.g. textbooks).

Annual student tuition & material fees as published are subject to change given individual circumstances at enrolment. Fees listed are for 2019 and may increase annually over the duration of delivery. Advertised start dates and delivery locations are subject to viable student numbers. For more information please contact our Course Advisors on 1300 BOX HILL.

This training is provided to eligible individuals with funds made available by the Commonwealth and Victorian Governments

February.  July intake available for those starting with foundation skills at Certificate IV level. 

Full time: 1 year

Part time: flexible

Box Hill

You must:

  • have successfully completed Australian Year 12 or equivalent,
  • have Certificate IV in IT level equivalent skills and knowledge, or
  • be a mature age applicant with experience in the IT industry experience (selection interview may be required)


To assist prospective students to determine whether a course is suitable and appropriate for the individual needs the Institute and CAE will assess all students’ language, literacy and numeracy and digital literacy by asking you to undertake a self-assessment review prior to the enrolment.

A course advisor will discuss the outcomes of the review and make recommendations about whether the course is suitable for you, and identify additional support where required.

Depending on the stream chosen, this qualification may offer you pathways into a number of IT qualifications at advanced diploma and degree levels. You may wish to apply for our Bachelor of Computer Systems or alternatively, you can apply for a variety of degree courses at LaTrobe, Monash, Deakin or Australian Catholic University. 

VTAC or direct entry

Recognition of Prior Learning is available.

This course is government accredited and has national recognition

The qualification is aligned with the Australian Qualification Framework (AQF) level 5

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge to administer a variety of networked computer systems as an independent ICT specialist or as part of an IT Services team. The qualification has a strong information technology base of core units. The selected elective units offer students the opportunity to learn the latest virtualisation technologies, develop key understanding and skills in implementing sustainability practices in a business environment, and refine their skills in the final stage of their course by working with an IT team on a workplace project. 

After successful completion, you may wish to apply for employment opportunities including:

  • IT administrator
  • IT operations administrator
  • internet/intranet systems administrator
  • systems administrator
  • server administrator
  • virtualisation administrator
  • level 2/3 help desk analyst

For the Diploma of Information Technology Systems Administration you need to complete a minimum of 10 core units and 9 elective units.


Last updated: February 22, 2019 12:53pm