The Australian education system comprises three sectors, with some variation across the states and territories:

  • Primary education (Kindergarten to Years 6 or 7)
  • Secondary education (Years 6 or 7, to 12)
  • Tertiary education

Tertiary education is divided into:

  • Higher education sector (Universities)
  • VET (Vocational Education and Training)


ESOS Framework

All Australian institutes providing courses for international students are required to comply with the Educational Services for Overseas Students (ESOS) Act 2000 and National Code of Practice 2018. You are assured of a quality education and a high standard of service when you study at Box Hill Institute.

Read more about ESOS Framework


What is TAFE?

TAFE stands for Technical and Further Education. TAFE is Australia’s largest provider of vocational education and training. More than 350,000 people are enrolled in TAFE in Victoria alone.

Read more about TAFE